4 Comments
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Mandy Hofmockel

I am a student journalist at the University of Southern California. I recently received a scholarship to work on a semester-long project raising awareness surrounding mental health in student newsrooms. I'm currently finishing up an online toolkit that I've put together for student journalists (and professionals too!) to learn about how to identify and deal with burnout. I've also collected anecdotes from student journalists around the country on how they have struggled or practiced self-care. Burnout in college journalism is a problem because we need more voices in this field! My website will go live at studentjournalismwellnessproject.wordpress.com on May 7th! Thanks for gathering these resources for reporters!

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2021Liked by Mandy Hofmockel

At the American Press Institute, we just published this resource to help news organizations think through what work they can stop doing (story types, tasks, etc,), so as to create space for more meaningful work. https://www.americanpressinstitute.org/publications/articles/how-newsrooms-can-do-less-work-but-have-more-impact/

Expand full comment

For mental health sake when I feel burned out I find I need to take a step back from engaging with other journalists or platforms who talk a LOT about their salary and how productive they are. It makes me feel ashamed of my own limits and angry at them for daring to thrive when I can't. Some writers really love talking metrics about how much they make, how many pitches they sent, their financial goals and for a long time I thought I had to do the same in order to be serious about my business. I don't think that's true. I personally some people love numbers because numbers are easier for them than people.

Expand full comment